[Skip to Content] | [Skip to Navigation]

GIO Stadium Canberra


Brumbies Rugby

Brumbies Rugby

Brumbies Rugby is Canberra's team in the international Super Rugby Championships.

The team was formed in 1996, as the third Australian team for the then Super 12 Super Rugby competition and to date, have competed in numerous finals, of which they have been victorious on two occasions.

They won their first Championship in 2001, beating the Sharks from South Africa 36 - 6 and in so doing, became the first team non New Zealand to win the competition. They won again in 2004, beating the Canterbury Crusaders with a triumphant 47 - 38 win in front of a record crowd of 28,753 here at Canberra Stadium.

2004 was also the season in which the ACT Brumbies transformed into Brumbies Rugby, as part of their expansion into the southern region of NSW.

In 2013 the Brumbies again qualified for the Super Rugby Final, but on this against they lost a closely contested final to the Waikato Chiefs 27-22. The season just gone, saw the Brumbies again making the finals but were beaten by the Highlanders 15-9 in a very tight contest.

Since their establishment, the club has seen a number of Rugby legends develop, including; Stephen Larkham (current coach and whom our East Grandstand is named in honour of), George Gregan (who shares the honour on the East Grandstand), Owen Finegan, Julian Huxley and George Smith. Team mascot Brumby Jack is also club legend and a favourite amongst Brumbies fans.


Upcoming Games Brumbies Website
Facebook share button Twitter share button Google plus share button